Wednesday, August 10, 2005

August 10th signings, and arbitration cases

Boston Bruins - Re-signed forwards Sergei Samsonov and P.J. Axelsson to one-year qualifying offers.
Calgary Flames - Confirm goaltender Roman Turek's retirement.
Carolina Hurricanes - Agreed to terms with forwards Justin Williams and Radim Vrbata on a one-year contracts.
Chicago Blackhawks - Trade goaltender Jocelyn Thibault to the Pittsburgh Penguins for a fourth-round draft pick in the 2006 draft. Re-signed restricted free agent Mark Bell to one-year deal.
Columbus Blue Jackets - Signed centre Jan Hrdina, who had been with the New Jersey Devils, to a one-year contract.
Detroit Red Wings - Re-signed forward Tomas Kopecky, announce former coach Dave Lewis has accepted a scouting job.
Edmonton Oilers - Re-signed forwards Brad Winchester and Jani Rita to two-year contracts and centre Jarret Stoll to a one-year deal.
Los Angeles Kings - Re-signed forward Michael Cammalleri and goaltender Adam Hauser. Signed unrestricted free agent defenceman Marty Wilford.
Minnesota Wild - Re-sign defenceman Andrei Zyuzin.
Nashville Predators - Re-signed forwards Scott Hartnell and Jeremy Yablonski.
Ottawa Senators - Re-signed forwards Martin Havlat (one-year deal) and Mike Fisher (three-year deal).
Philadelphia Flyers - Re-sign goaltender Robert Esche to two-year contract and announce that defenceman Dennis Seidenberg has accepted qualifying offer.
Pittsburgh Penguins - Acquired goaltender Jocelyn Thibault from the Chicago Blackhawks for a fourth round pick in the 2006 Entry Draft. Re-signed forward Kris Beech.
San Jose Sharks - Re-signed centre Wayne Primeau and sign defenceman Tom Preissing.
Toronto Maple Leafs - Re-signed forward Wade Belak and defenceman Aki Berg.
Vancouver Canucks - Re-signed left wing Daniel Sedin and center Henrik Sedin to one-year contracts.
Washington Capitals - Signed unrestricted free agent defencemen Mathieu Biron and Ivan Majesky.

Cases filed for arbitration:

Just 11 NHL players - including Hossa - invoked their right for salary arbitration Wednesday, the deadline to file under the guidelines of the new collective bargaining agreement.
Also opting for arbitration were Brenden Morrow of Dallas, Shawn Horcoff of Edmonton, Paul Mara of Phoenix, Mattias Ohlund of Vancouver, Dick Tarnstrom and Josef Melichar of Pittsburgh.
The New York Islanders featured the highest number of players, with Trent Hunter, Justin Papineau, Mike York and Brent Sopel filing. York and Sopel were acquired in trades with Edmonton and Vancouver, respectively, last week.
According to the new CBA, players are eligible for salary arbitration after four years in the NHL, as opposed to the previous three-year period.
Also new to the agreement is the right for teams to take players to arbitration. Players who made more than $1.5 million in their previous season can be taken to arbitration by their teams instead of receiving qualifying offers. Clubs also can elect arbitration for Group II free agents who declined to choose the procedure.
Teams have until 5 p.m. EDT on Thursday to file for arbitration against players. All hearings will take place in Toronto from August 23-September 1
-thanks to for reports

No comments: